Home / Volley / Cricket / Holder returns to face India; CWI names 13-man squad for upcoming ODI series

Holder returns to face India; CWI names 13-man squad for upcoming ODI series

Experienced allrounder Jason Holder returns to the West Indies team this week as the Maroon Men prepare to face India in the three-match CG United ODI Series in Trinidad.

West Indies and India will compete for the CG United trophy at the Queen’s Park Oval on Friday 22 July, Sunday 24 July and Wednesday 27 July. All matches start at 9:30am (8:30am Jamaica Time/7pm India time).

Photo: West Indies bowler Jason Holder.
(via CWI Media)

Holder, who was rested for the Bangladesh series “to help manage his workload as one of the West Indies all format players”, is expected to provide a lift to a team that has already been whitewashed in three ODI series in 2022—away to Pakistan and India and at home against Bangladesh.

“As we all know Jason is one of the leading all-round cricketers in the world and we’re happy to have him back in the team,” said Cricket West Indies (CWI) lead Men’s Team selector Desmond Haynes. “He will be refreshed, re-energised and ready to go and we can expect to see his brilliance on the field as well as meaningful contributions off the field as well.”

Holder replaces Romario Shepherd in the West Indies 13-man side while Keemo Paul retains his place, despite suffering a hamstring injury in the third ODI against Bangladesh yesterday. Shepherd and spinner Hayden Walsh Jr are listed as reserves.

KFC Munch Pack

West Indies lost 11 of 15 ODIs played in 2022, with their only wins coming against Netherlands (thrice) and Ireland (once).

Photo: West Indies ODI captain Nicholas Pooran in action against Bangladesh in July 2022.
(Copyright Randy Brooks/ AFP via Getty)

“We had a very challenging three matches against Bangladesh in Guyana, so we will be looking to rebound when we face India in the conditions in Trinidad,” said Haynes. “We have seen some growth among some players, but overall we need to regroup and play better against the Indians.”

Fans can purchase their tickets at tickets.windiestickets.com or via  www.windiescricket.com/tickets to avoid the queue and to choose their preferred seat. 

Tickets are also available at Queen’s Park Oval and the Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board (TTCB) headquarters at the National Cricket Centre, Couva from 10am to 4pm daily (excluding Sunday 17 July) leading up to each match day. 

Stadium box offices will open two hours before the match start time on each match day. For all matches, children under the age of 16 and seniors can get tickets at half price.

Photo: West Indies leg spinner Akeal Hosein.

West Indies squad: Nicholas Pooran (captain), Shai Hope (vice-captain), Shamarh Brooks, Keacy Carty, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Keemo Paul, Rovman Powell, Jayden Seales.

Reserves: Romario Shepherd, Hayden Walsh Jr.

(Match Schedule)

CG United ODIs start at 9:30am (8:30am Jamaica/7pm India)

22 July: 1st CG United ODI – Queen’s Park Oval, Trinidad

24 July: 2nd CG United ODI – Queen’s Park Oval

27 July: 3rd CG United ODI – Queen’s Park Oval

Photo: West Indies spinner Gudakesh Motie.
(Copyright Randy Brooks / AFP/ CWI Media)

T20Is start at 10:30am (9:30am Jamaica/8pm India)

29 July: 1st T20I – Brian Lara Cricket Academy, Trinidad

1 August: 2nd T20I – Warner Park, St Kitts

2 August: 3rd T20I – Warner Park

6 August: 4th T20I – Broward County Stadium, Florida

7 August: 5th T20I – Broward County Stadium

About Editor

Check Also

“He told us he’s committed!” WI recall Evin, while Cariah, Charles and Reifer also in W/Cup squad

The Cricket West Indies selection panel announced its 15-man team for the 2022 ICC Men’s …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.