Home / Volley / Cricket / Da Silva named WI ‘A’ team captain, CWI selects four-day and 50 overs teams to face Bangladesh ‘A’

Da Silva named WI ‘A’ team captain, CWI selects four-day and 50 overs teams to face Bangladesh ‘A’

Wicketkeeper/batsman Joshua Da Silva will lead the West Indies ‘A’ Team into two four-day and three 50 over matches against the Bangladesh ‘A’ Team at the Daren Sammy Cricket Ground in Saint Lucia from 4 to 20 August. 

The squads, which will be coached by Andre Coley, include a combination of players with international experience, as well as others who graduated from the CWI Rising Stars U-19 and CWI Emerging Players teams.

Photo: West Indies batsman Joshua Da Silva on the go against England.

“Joshua has done quite well so far in his Test career, and we believe he will be a good leader for both formats,” said Cricket West Indies (CWI) lead men’s team selector Desmond Haynes. “We also have a few others in the squads who have played at the international level and performed reasonably well, so we want to see them grow even more. 

“And this series against the visitors from Bangladesh will present that golden opportunity.”

Haynes, a West Indies cricket legend, said the outings should help to broaden the available pool of players for the Maroon Men.

KFC Munch Pack

“The ‘A Team’ programme is a very good thing for West Indies cricket,” Haynes told the CWI Media, “and CWI must be complimented for ensuring that we have these matches back up and running and arranging these games in Saint Lucia.

“The squad is selected for us to have a closer look at the players in the longer format and also 50-over format as we have a lot of international cricket around the corner.

“We want to give the players exposure and the chance to play ‘A Team’ cricket and President’s XI matches as we had earlier this year as it is vital and much needed.”

Photo: Guyana Harpy Eagles opener Tagenarine Chanderpaul in action against the Windward Islands at the Queen’s Park Oval on 12 February 2022.
(Copyright Daniel Prentice/ Wired868)

West Indies ‘A’ four-day team:

Joshua Da Silva (captain), Colin Archibald, Alick Athanaze, Yannic Cariah, Keacy Carty, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Bryan Charles, Justin Greaves, Tevin Imlach, Shermon Lewis, Jeremiah Louis, Marquino Mindley, Anderson Phillip, Jeremy Solozano.

West Indies ‘A’ 50 overs team:

Joshua Da Silva (captain), Alick Athanaze, Teddy Bishop, Yannic Cariah, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Justin Greaves, Tevin Imlach, Shermon Lewis, Jeremiah Louis, Preston McSween, Marquino Mindley, Anderson Phillip, Kevin Sinclair, Shamar Springer.

Photo: Leeward Islands pacer Jeremiah Louis (centre) charges in to bowl at T&T Red Force batsman Joshua Da Silva during West Indies Championship action at the Diego Martin Sporting Complex on 19 May 2022.
(Copyright Daniel Prentice/ Wired868)


at Daren Sammy Cricket Ground

4-7 August: 1st Four-Day – local start time 10am (9am Jamaica)

10-13 August: 2nd Four-Day – local start time 10am (9am Jamaica)

16 August: 1st 50-over match – local start time 9:30am (8:30am Jamaica)

18 August: 2nd 50-over match – local start time 9:30am (8:30am Jamaica)

20 August: 3rd 50-over match – local start time 9:30am (8:30am Jamaica)

About Editor

Check Also

Adams: We won’t compromise team’s ability to prepare! WI drop Hetmyer after two missed flights

The Cricket West Indies (CWI) selection panel has cut talented batsman Shimron Hetmyer from its …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.