Home / Volley / Cricket / CWI reschedule West Indies’ ODIs with Ireland, scrap T20I fixture

CWI reschedule West Indies’ ODIs with Ireland, scrap T20I fixture

The West Indies and Ireland will return to the pitch at Sabina Park on Thursday, as the two nations attempt to complete the ongoing CG Insurance One-day International Series—despite Covid-19 cases and injuries within the tourists’ camp.

Cricket Ireland (CI) confirmed five positive cases of the novel coronavirus plus two injuries since the visitors got to Jamaica, which led to the postponement of the second ODI due to be played today. However, Cricket West Indies (CWI) and CI said today that the show will go on, although Ireland have a severely depleted team.

Photo: West Indies batsman Shamarh Brooks clears the legside field during his top score of 93 against Ireland on his ODI debut on 8 January 2022.
(via CWI Media)

The ODI matches form part of the ICC ODI Super League with both teams chasing automatic qualification for the 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, as one of the seven teams to join hosts India. West Indies were eighth in the qualification rankings prior to the start of the CG Insurance Series but climbed to joint fourth with their 24-run win over Ireland in Saturday’s first ODI y.

The second CG Insurance ODI bowls off at 9:30am Jamaica time (10:30am Eastern Caribbean time), while the two nations face each other in the third and final ODI on 16 January.

However, the rescheduling means West Indies and Ireland will not play the T20 International (T20I) that was initially set for Sunday 16 January. 

KFC Munch Pack

After Ireland’s departure, the regional team, captained by Kieron Pollard, faces England in five T20Is, starting on 22 January.

Photo: West Indies captain Kieron Pollard.
(via CWI Media)

(West Indies schedule)

CG Insurance Series against Ireland at Sabina Park, Jamaica

13 January: 2nd CG Insurance ODI

16 January: 3rd CG Insurance ODI

England Series at Kensington Oval, Barbados

22 January: 1st T20I (4pm local time/3pm Jamaica)

23 January: 2nd T20I (4pm local time/3pm Jamaica)

26 January: 3rd T20I (4pm local time/3pm Jamaica)

29 January: 4th T20I (4pm local time/3pm Jamaica)

30 January: 5th T20I (4pm local time/3pm Jamaica)

About Editor

Check Also

“This is not me giving up…” Pooran quits as WI captain after 9 wins and 21 defeats

West Indies batsman Nicholas Pooran has stepped down as white ball captain, in the wake …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.