Home / Volley / Cricket / Hetmyer, Cottrell and Chase are back for West Indies’ ODI series against Australia

Hetmyer, Cottrell and Chase are back for West Indies’ ODI series against Australia

Left-handed top order batsman Shimron Hetmyer, left-arm fast bowler Sheldon Cottrell and right-handed all-rounder Roston Chase have been recalled to the West Indies One-Day International (ODI) squad for the upcoming CG Insurance ODI series against Australia.

The West Indies will play three ODIs at Kensington Oval in Barbados on 20, 22 and 24 July. All three are day/night encounters and both nations will be aiming for points to secure automatic qualification at the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup in India.

Photo: West Indies cricket captain Kieron Pollard (left) puts an arm around batsman Shimron Hetmyer during a training session ahead of their third ODI against India in Cuttack on 21 December 2019.
(Copyright AP Photo/Mahesh Kumar A)

The Cricket West Indies (CWI) announced its 15-man squad which excluded Kyle Mayers and Kevin Sinclair from the team that defeated Sri Lanka 3-0 in March.

“This squad is coming off a comprehensive series win against Sri Lanka which should boost their confidence going into what is expected to be a tougher contest against Australia,” said CWI lead selector Roger Harper, in a press statement. “The return of Shimron Hetmyer, Roston Chase and Sheldon Cottrell adds greater depth and experience to the squad.

“Playing in familiar home conditions, hopefully will bring out the best in each player thereby enabling the team to perform at a consistently high standard. This CG Insurance ODI series against Australia is part of the ICC Cricket World Cup qualification process where every game and every point counts, so it is very important.”

KFC Munch Pack

The upcoming limited overs contests represent Australia’s first tour of the West Indies since the 2016 Tri-Nation Series.

Photo: West Indies players celebrate after completing a 3-0 ODI series win over Sri Lanka on 14 March 2021.
(via CWI Media)

West Indies ODI Team: Kieron Pollard (captain), Shai Hope (vice-captain), Fabian Allen, Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammed, Anderson Philip, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd.

About Editor

Check Also

Pooran: “We’re going to get better”; WI score 301/8 but fail to hold off NZ in ODI decider

When crunch time arrived in the CG United One-Day International (ODI) series at Kensington Oval …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.