T20WC 24: Shamar, Hetmyer and Chase make WI squad; Mayers, Evin miss out

West Indies coach Daren Sammy listed 24-year-old fast bowler Shamar Joseph in his squad today as he announced the 15-man team that will represent the Maroon Men at the 2024 T20 World Cup.

Joseph burst into the limelight with a Man of the Series performance in a drawn series against Australia in January. However, the Guyanese quick never represented the West Indies in the limited overs format and has just three wicketless T20 games under his belt.

New West Indies star Shamar Joseph celebrates his amazing Test debut in Australia.

Sammy will hope Joseph, who managed 0/47 for LSG against KKR in his only IPL outing this season, hits the ground running when it matters—as he did on Test debut in Australia, earlier this year.

There were little surprises otherwise in Sammy’s squad.

Rovman Powell captains the team, after serving as deputy to Nicholas Pooran in West Indies’ disastrous 2022 T20 showing. However, Pooran kept his place in the squad along with new vice-captain Alzarri Joseph, Jason Holder, Johnson Charles, Akeal Hosein and Brandon King.

Shimron Hetmyer, who literally missed his flight for the last World Cup and was replaced by Shamarh Brooks, was one of nine IPL-based players in the current squad.

Outside of Pooran, Holder, Joseph (A) and Joseph (S), Shai Hope, Andre Russell, Sherfane Rutherford and Romario Shepherd will return from the sub-continent to represent the West Indies.

West Indies batsman Nicholas Pooran swats away a delivery during T20I action against India.
Copyright: AP

Allrounder Kyle Mayers, who wore LSG colours at the IPL, was not recalled though—and is among eight players from the 2022 squad that were not retained.

Opener Evin Lewis, who ruled himself out of the Nepal T20 series, did not get an invite to the T20 World Cup party, while Yannic Cariah, Sheldon Cottrell, Obed McCoy, Raymon Reifer, Odean Smith and Brooks are the other 2022 players that will not feature this year.

West Indies squad: Rovman Powell (captain), Alzarri Joseph (vice-captain), Johnson Charles, Roston Chase, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Shamar Joseph, Brandon King, Gudakesh Motie, Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd.

More from Wired868
McCoy replaces injured Holder in WI W/Cup team; Forde among five reserves

The Cricket West Indies (CWI) selection panel has inserted 27-year-old left arm fast bowler Obed McCoy into the West Indies Read more

WI get Aussie T20 warm-up at Oval; Sammy should have full squad

Cricket West Indies (CWI) today confirmed a final warm-up fixture for the West Indies T20 team from 7pm on Thursday Read more

King leads WI in S/Africa dress rehearsal; Shamar set for T20I debut

Cricket West Indies today announced a 15-man team to face South Africa in the West Indies’ final dress rehearsal before Read more

Open letter to Scyld Berry: does plucking feathers from Lara’s wing float your boat?

These growing feathers plucked from Lara’s wing Will make him fly an ordinary pitch. Who else would soar above the Read more

Vaneisa: Questions of legality and integrity still haunt West Indies cricket

A few days ago at Lord’s, Sir Viv Richards and Sir Curtly Ambrose had a conversation with Machel Hewitt of Read more

Best: Fire in Babylon and fireworks under pressure—we love the way WI play

Bazball brings a broad smile to British faces. It brings back very happy memories, but not from before the last Read more

Check Also

McCoy replaces injured Holder in WI W/Cup team; Forde among five reserves

The Cricket West Indies (CWI) selection panel has inserted 27-year-old left arm fast bowler Obed …

One comment

  1. Something has to be seriously wrong with our cricket, oui.
    Johnson Charles, whose technique is based largely on successful guessing, can earn a place on a West Indies 15?
    On what basis is Shamar Joseph selected? How is welcoming Joseph different from a hail Mary?
    What else does Shimron Hetmyer have to do to be consigned to the dungheap? Announce his retirement?
    June 1 to 29? Wake me up when it’s over!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.