Romario Shepherd replaces Keemo Paul in West Indies squad for Bangladesh ODI series

EPL Infrafred Sauna

Guyanese allrounder Romario Shepherd will replace compatriot Keemo Paul in the West Indies squad for the three-match CG United One-Day International (ODI) Series against Bangladesh, which bowls off tomorrow from 9.30am at the Guyana National Stadium.

Paul missed out due to a positive Covid-19 test result that also ruled him out of West Indies’ last T20 International clash with Bangladesh, which the hosts won by five wickets to clinch the series 2-0.

Photo: West Indies bowling coach Roddy Estwick (left) has a word with pacer Romario Shepherd in training.
(via CWI Media)

Dominic Drakes deputised for Paul in the T20 contest. And the Cricket West Indies (CWI) Men’s Selection Panel, which is headed by Dr Desmond Haynes, gave the nod to Shepherd for the ODI outings. 

Shepherd was the leading wicket-taker in the just concluded ODI series against Bangladesh, with six wickets—including a career-best 3-21 in the first T20I at Windsor Park, Dominica—at an average of 11.33 and an economy rate of 7.5.

Odean Smith will serve as reserve for the ODI team—the position previously occupied by Shepherd.

Fans can book their seats for tomorrow’s affair via and save their tickets to a mobile device or take a printout for scanning at the stadium.

Photo: West Indies spinner Akeal Hosein (right) celebrates the wicket of England batsman Jason Roy with wicketkeeper Nicholas Pooran during the fifth T20I at Kensington Oval, Barbados on 30 January 2022.
(via CWI Media)

Ticket prices range from US$6 (Guy$1,200) for the Mound/Grounds, to US$15 (GUY$3,000) for the Orange Stand or US$25 (GUY$5,000) for the best seats in the Red and Green Stands.

Children under the age of 16 and seniors can enter free. Otherwise, fans can follow the action on ESPN Caribbean or listen to live radio commentary on the Windies Cricket YouTube channel.

West Indies ODI squad: Nicholas Pooran (captain), Shai Hope (vice-captain), Shamarh Brooks, Keacy Carty, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Anderson Phillip, Rovman Powell, Jayden Seales, Romario Shepherd.

Reserve: Odean Smith

More from Wired868
“Hetty’s” back! WI recall Hetmyer and Oshane for ODI series

Dashing left-handed batsman Shimron Hetmyer was included in the West Indies team for the upcoming One-Day International (ODI) series against Read more

Hope laments poor “mindset” as WI miss out on W/Cup after Scotland loss

West Indies One-Day International (ODI) captain Shai Hope suggested that his team lacked the right attitude in Zimbabwe, as the Read more

West Indies call-up Sinclair for Super Sixes; spinner replaces injured Cariah

The Cricket West Indies (CWI) selectors have selected 23-year-old off-spinner Kevin Sinclair to the West Indies team for the ongoing Read more

“He’ll add value to the team…” Johnson Charles replaces Motie in WI W/Cup team

Explosive top-order batsman Johnson Charles will represent West Indies in the 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier this month, Read more

Hooper joins WI coaching staff; Sammy: Important to have right people around you

Former West Indies star allrounder Carl Hooper and opener Stuart Williams will work as assistant coaches for the regional team, Read more

ICC provisionally suspends Windies batsman Thomas, lays seven corruption charges

West Indies batsman Devon Thomas, 33, has been provisionally suspended from international cricket with immediate effect by the International Cricket Read more

About Editor

Check Also

“Hetty’s” back! WI recall Hetmyer and Oshane for ODI series

Dashing left-handed batsman Shimron Hetmyer was included in the West Indies team for the upcoming …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.