Grosvenor receives TTOC’s Chapman award; Carter and Campbell get major 2020 sport gongs

Former St Anthony’s College and Queen’s Royal College (QRC) football coach Nigel Grosvenor was recognised posthumously for his contribution to sport yesterday, as the Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee (TTOC) presented him with the Alexander B Chapman award.

The award, named after the former TTOC president, is meant to serve as reward for ‘outstanding contribution to sport and Olympism, particularly in the promotion of Olympic ideals’, and recognises the: blending of sports with culture and education; using sport as a tool for creating a peaceful society; and practising sport without discrimination with ‘a spirit of friendship, solidarity and fair play’.

Photo: QRC coach Nigel Grosvenor (left) congratulates one of his players after the full-time whistle.
(Copyright Allan V Crane/SSFLTT)

Grosvenor passed away on 25 September at the Couva Hospital, where he was warded after becoming infected with Covid-19.

The TTOC’s 26th Annual Awards Ceremony was held virtually with the two major gongs, Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year, going to swimmer Dylan Carter and cyclist Teniel Campbell respectively.

Campbell, who moved from Italy to Australia in October, became the first female Trinidad and Tobago cyclist to qualify for the Olympic Games while Carter broke two national records at the International Swimming League (ISL) in Hungary.

All the awardees on the night compete abroad, which could be partially due to the impact of the novel coronavirus pandemic on local sport.

Swimmer Nickolai Blackman and skier Abigail Vieira were the Junior Sportsman and Junior Sportswoman of the Year respectively, while rower Aisha Chow got the Sports Personality of the Year gong and netballer Samantha Wallace received the Future is Female Award.

Photo: Trinidad and Tobago cyclist Teniel Campbell (left) shows off her silver medal after the women’s road cycling individual time trial finals at the Pan American Games in Lima, Peru on 7 August 2019.
Also on the podium are gold medalist Chloe Dygert from USA (centre), and bronze medalist Laurie Jussaume of Canada.
(Copyright AP Photo/Juan Karita)

Vieira also won the People’s Choice Award.

TTOC president Brian Lewis, Trinidad and Tobago President Paula-Mae Weekes, permanent secretary in the Ministry of Sport and Community Development Beverly Reid-Samuel, and former Soca Warriors captain and England Premier League footballer Kenwyne Jones were among the speakers at the event.

Jones delivered the feature address.

The TTOC also recognised top local athletes and coaches who passed away in 2020, which includes: Rolf Bartolo, Nigel Grosvenor, Teba McKnight, Nathan Julien (all football), Lenny Kirton (cricket and football), Dr Clifton Bertrand, Josiah Patrice, Noel Hyland (all athletics), Shanice Baptiste (bocce), Floris Kelshall (hockey), and Shawn Lawrence (basketball).

TTOC 2000 Awards

Sportsman of the Year – Dylan Carter (swimming)

Sportswoman of the Year – Teniel Campbell (cycling)

Junior Sportsman of the Year – Nickolai Blackman (swimming)

Junior Sportswoman of the Year – Abigail Vieira (skiing)

Sports Personality of the Year – Aisha Chow (rowing)

Future is Female Award – Samantha Wallace (netball)

People’s Choice Award – Abigail Vieira (skiing)

Alexander B Chapman – Nigel Grosvenor (posthumously – football coach)

Photo: Dylan Carter celebrates after winning silver in the Men’s 50m Butterfly Swim at the Gold Coast 2018 XXI Commonwealth Games at The Optus Aqutics Centre, Gold Coast, Australia. (Copyright Allan V Crane/CA-images/Wired868)
More from Wired868
“Anything but Hadad!” TTFA members accept Fifa amendments to avoid NC extension

Members of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) are now officially in election mode, after agreeing to constitutional amendments Read more

Intercol 23: Morris stars—again!—as St Anthony’s penalise QRC in North final

It has to be some sort of record. One goalkeeper, two divisions, two penalty shootout wins and two zonal titles Read more

Olympic 4x100M Gold Medalists: “We feel swept under the rug!” Shamfa: Gov’t can’t pay requested fees

Nearly a year after receiving their gold medals at a reallocation ceremony in Lausanne, Switzerland, Trinidad and Tobago’s 4x100M relay Read more

Intercol 2022: Chaves stars as Fatima cruise past QRC for first North title since 2013

Fatima College dusted off the disappointment of their Big 4 Premier Division Final loss to St Benedict’s College with a Read more

Intercol 2022: Tranquil stun “Terminix Trinity Moka”, plus potential North relegation kerfuffle

Tranquillity Secondary produced the shock of the 2022 Coca Cola National Intercol competition so far, as they edged Trinity College Read more

SSFL 2022: Beaver-Trick Faustin feasts on QRC; “Bound to Score” Noel keeps San Juan perfect! 

Feed Faustin and he will score! That was the apparent game plan for Trinity College East as they faced QRC Read more

Check Also

“Anything but Hadad!” TTFA members accept Fifa amendments to avoid NC extension

Members of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) are now officially in election mode, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.