Home / Volley / Global Football / Lawrence finally names 21-man squad to face Mexico; Aikim, Nathan, Judah and Trimmingham are in

Lawrence finally names 21-man squad to face Mexico; Aikim, Nathan, Judah and Trimmingham are in

Trinidad and Tobago Men’s National Senior Team Dennis Lawrence called up Cunupia FC midfielder Dwane James for the first time and also offered recalls to United States-based winger Nathan Lewis and central midfielder Duane Muckette for tomorrow’s international assignment against Mexico in Toluca.

Lawrence finally announced his 21-man squad for the Mexico friendly this afternoon—barely 24 hours before kick off and more than a day since his players landed in North America for the assignment. In contrast, Mexico coach Gerardo ‘Tata’ Martino presented his team to the media last Saturday.

Photo: Trinidad and Tobago National Senior Team assistant coach Stuart Charles-Février (second from left) has a word with head coach Dennis Lawrence (centre) during training at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva on 15 April 2018.
(Copyright Chevaughn Christopher/Wired868)

As expected, Lawrence leant heavily on local-based talent as the friendly falls outside the FIFA match window and clubs are not obligated to release players to take part. Terminix La Horquetta Rangers and Club Sando offered three players apiece to the national cause.

Goalkeeper Glenroy Samuel, full back Ross Russell Jr and flanker Aikim Andrews got the nod from Rangers while defenders Nicoholas Thomas and Josiah Trimmingham and attacker Nion Lammy were summoned from Sando.

Defence Force defender Curtis Gonzales, arguably the outstanding player of the Ascension Invitational Tournament’s Division One, was also selected along with Judah Garcia, who operated as playmaker for Ascension Division Two outfit, Deportivo PF.

KFC Munch Pack

Among the notable omissions were tigerish Rangers midfielder Kevon Goddard, Morvant Caledonia AIA right back Joshua Alexander, Cunupia FC forward Kevon Woodley and San Fernando Giants midfield lynchpin Yohannes Richardson.

The Soca Warriors will use the Toluca trip as a dress rehearsal for their decisive 10 October Concacaf Nations League clash with Honduras while Mexico, who selected an under-23 squad with three overage players, are preparing for their 2020 Olympic qualifying campaign. Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) president David John-Williams has already declared that he will not send a men’s under-23 team into action for the Tokyo Olympic qualifiers.

Photo: Deportivo PF midfielder Judah Garcia (centre) glides past San F’do Giants captain Odell Fitzallen (right) while Justin Sadoo looks on during Ascension action at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium Training Field on 29 September 2019.
(Copyright Daniel Prentice/CA-Images/Wired868)

At present, Lawrence is on a run of 11 matches without a win. If he fails to triumph in Mexico, he will match the unwanted mark set by the late coach Roderick Warner in 1985. The Trinidad and Tobago Men’s National Senior Team has never played more than 12 matches without a win in its 111-year history.

(Trinidad and Tobago team)

Goalkeepers: 1.Marvin Phillip (Neroca FC—India), 21.Glenroy Samuel (Terminix La Horquetta Rangers), 22.Adrian Foncette (Police FC);

Defenders: 3.Isaiah Garcia (W Connection), 2.Nicoholas Thomas, 18.Josiah Trimmingham (both Club Sando), 5.Daneil Cyrus (Mohun Bagan AC—India), 6.Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), 12.Carlyle Mitchell (San Juan Jabloteh), 17.Ross Russell Jr (Terminix La Horquetta Rangers);

Midfielders: 14.Dwane James (Cunupia FC), 8.Aaron Lester (Defence Force), 19.Duane Muckette, 23.Leston Paul (both Memphis 901 FC—US);

Attacking midfielders: 13.Aikim Andrews (Terminix La Horquetta Rangers), 10.Judah Garcia (Pt Fortin Civic), 16.Adriel Kerr (Police FC), 7.Nathan Lewis (Langing Ignite—US), 19.Christian Thomas (Police FC);

Photo: Trinidad and Tobago winger Nathan Lewis (right) tries to shake off USA defender Eric Lichaj during 2018 World Cup qualifying action in Couva on 10 October 2017.
(Copyright Annalisa Caruth/AFP 2018/Wired868)

Forwards: 9.Nion Lammy (Club Sando), 15.Jameel Perry (Police FC).

Staff: Dennis Lawrence (head coach), Stuart Charles-Fevrier (assistant coach), Stern John (assistant coach), Ross Russell (goalkeeper coach), Akash Dhanai (doctor), Dexter Thomas (medic/trainer), Sion Cain (massage therapist), Michael Williams (equipment manager), Wayne Cunningham (logistics manager), Richard Piper (team manager).

About Editor

Check Also

Eve: “This tournament worked for us”; T&T coach points to positives after 2-1 loss to Thailand

The Trinidad and Tobago Men’s National Senior Team suffered their second defeat of the invitational …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.