Home / Volley / Cricket / T2021 W/C: Holder is in! Former WI captain can face Bangladesh, after replacing McCoy

T2021 W/C: Holder is in! Former WI captain can face Bangladesh, after replacing McCoy

Former captain Jason Holder has been added to the West Indies’ World Cup team and is eligible to play against Bangladesh at the Sharjah Stadium from 6am on Friday, after the Cricket West Indies (CWI) selection panel this evening named the talented all-rounder as a replacement for injured left-arm fast bowler Obed McCoy.

The change was approved by the ICC’s technical committee for the T20 World Cup.

Photo: Former captain Jason Holder has been recalled to the West Indies T20 team.

Holder, a controversial omission from the squad in the first place, is already in the UAE as a travelling reserve. His inclusion is the second alteration to captain Kieron Pollard’s squad—after spinner Akeal Hosein replaced Fabian Allen last week.

After the team’s successive losses to England and South Africa, Hosein has taken three of the four wickets claimed by West Indies bowlers so far in the tournament. West Indies cricket fans will be hoping that Holder is at least as effective.

“Jason Holder has been in the UAE for a while now and will fit quite well into the team unit,” said CWI lead selector Roger Harper. “He is an experienced and knowledgeable cricketer who we know will be eager and excited to grab the opportunity.”

KFC Munch Pack

Harper wished McCoy, who has a right shin injury, a speedy recovery.

Photo: West Indies pacer Obed McCoy, now out of the World Cup through injury. (via CWI Media)

“McCoy did really well in the T20Is earlier this year and adapted well in the opening match against England,” said Harper. “He was a key member of the bowling unit and it’s unfortunate he won’t be able to take any further part in the tournament.”

The CWI selection panel has not opted to summon an additional reserve player.

Current West Indies squad: Kieron Pollard (captain), Nicholas Pooran (vice-captain), Dwayne Bravo, Roston Chase, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Evin Lewis, Ravi Rampaul, Andre Russell, Lendl Simmons, Oshane Thomas, and Hayden Walsh Jr.

Travelling Reserves: Darren Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Gudakesh Motie.

About Editor

Check Also

“He told us he’s committed!” WI recall Evin, while Cariah, Charles and Reifer also in W/Cup squad

The Cricket West Indies selection panel announced its 15-man team for the 2022 ICC Men’s …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.