Walcott, Thompson and Cedenio among four returning medalists in 30-member Team Tokyo

Returning Olympic medalists Keshorn Walcott, Richard ‘Torpedo’ Thompson, Machel Cedenio and Deon Lendore are among 30 athletes who will represent Trinidad and Tobago at the Tokyo Olympic Games, which runs from 23 July to 8 August 2021.

The Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee (TTOC), headed by president Brian Lewis, confirmed its 30 Tokyo-bound athletes yesterday, which comprise of 19 men and 17 women.

Photo: Keshorn Walcott will again fly the flag for Trinidad and Tobago at the Tokyo Olympics.
(Copyright Sean Morrison/Wired868)

Teniel Campbell is part of the female contingent and will create history in Tokyo by becoming the twin island republic’s first women’s cyclist at the Games.

Trinidad and Tobago amassed 19 medals at the Games since their maiden appearance at the London 1948 Summer Olympics with three gold, five silver and 11 bronze medals.

Hasely Crawford won the men’s 100m sprint in Montreal 1976 while Walcott snared gold in men’s javelin in London 2012 and the men’s 4x100m relay team of Keston Bledman, Marc Burns, Emmanuel Callender, Aaron Armstrong and Thompson were belatedly awarded gold for being the fastest clean sprint outfit in Beijing 2008.

Walcott was the country’s only medalist in Rio 2016, where he won bronze.

Trinidad and Tobago’s athletes are supported by 27 officials, coaches and management staff, headed by chef de mission Lovie Santana. There are 20 male officials and seven women accompanying the team.

Photo: Trinidad and Tobago cyclist Teniel Campbell (left) shows off her silver medal after the women’s road cycling individual time trial finals at the Pan American Games in Lima, Peru on 7 August 2019.
Also on the podium are gold medalist Chloe Dygert from USA (centre), and bronze medalist Laurie Jussaume of Canada.
(Copyright AP Photo/Juan Karita)

The full list of the TTOC’s Tokyo contingent comprise:

(TTOC management)

Lovie Santana (chef de mission), Rheeza Grant (Covid liaison oficer);

(Medical staff)

Dr Rudranath Ramsawak (chief medical officer), Dr Nailah Adams (team doctor), Dr Anyl Gopiesingh (athletics doctor), Jelani Baptiste, Alban Merepeza (both physiotherapists), June Durham, Odessa Chandler, Shurlan Bonas, Brent Elder (all massage therapists);


Keshorn Walcott (men’s javelin), Michelle-Lee Ahye, Kelly-Ann Baptiste (both women’s 100m and 4x100m relay), Semoy Hackett, Khalifa St Fort, Ayla Stanisclaus (all women’s 4x100m relay), Kion Benjamin, Adell Colthrust, Eric Harrison, Akanni Hislop, Richard Thompson (all men’s 4x100m relay), Kyle Greaux, Jareem Richards (both men’s 200m), Machel Cedenio, Deon Lendore, Dwight St Hillaire (all men’s 400m and 4x400m relay), Asa Guevara, Che Lara (men’s 4x400m relay), Sparkle McKnight (women’s 400m hurdles), Tyra Gittens (women’s long jump), Andwelle Wright (men’s long jump), George Comissiong (team manager), NicConnor Alexander, Dr Ian Hypolite, Charles Joseph, Ismael Lopez Mastrapa, Wendell Williams (all coaches);

Photo: Trinidad and Tobago sprinters Richard Thompson (left) and Rondell Sorrillo cross the line in the 100 metre final of the NAAA National Open Championships on 25 June 2016 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain.
Thompson won gold at the event followed by Sorrillo, Bledman and Callender respectively.
(Courtesy Allan V Crane/CA Images/Wired868)


Aaron Prince (men’s middleweight 69-75kg), Reynold Cox (team manager), Rawlson Dopwell (coach);


Teniel Campbell (road race), Kwesi Brown, Nicholas Paul (both sprint and keirin), Desmond Roberts (team manager), Alejandro Gonzales-Tablas (coach), Elisha Greene (mechanic);


Gabrielle Wood (women’s +78kg), Lee Calder (coach)


Felice Aisha Chow (women’s single sculls), Sarah Trowbridge (coach)

Photo: Trinidad and Tobago’s Felice Chow.
(Courtesy TTOC)


Andrew Lewis (laser men), Kairon Serrette (team manager)


Dylan Carter (100m freestyle), Cherelle Thompson (50m freestyle), Tracy De Montrichard-Carter (team manager), Chase Bloch (coach)

More from Wired868
Paul, Ahye top T&T 2023 Sports Awards; Blackman, De Gannes get Youth gongs

After taking top honors at the Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee Awards, cyclist Nicholas Paul and sprinter Michelle-Lee Ayhe were Read more

Love and Football 23: Molino and T&T football stars deliver Christmas cheer

Love and Football, a charity football match established by Trinidad and Tobago football stars Kevin Molino and Sheldon Bateau in Read more

Olympic 4x100M Gold Medalists: “We feel swept under the rug!” Shamfa: Gov’t can’t pay requested fees

Nearly a year after receiving their gold medals at a reallocation ceremony in Lausanne, Switzerland, Trinidad and Tobago’s 4x100M relay Read more

Connection and Central set to kick off TTPFL, no break for international match window

The TT Premier Football League now has a kick off date. The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) today revealed Read more

Gov’t commits TT$9m to TTPFL; fixtures, title sponsor and cash prizes still unknown

The Government of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago (GoRTT) will commit a sum of TT$9m over a three-year span Read more

Dear Editor: T&T Gov’t disrespected Beijing 4x100m team by not properly acknowledging their gold medals

“[…] Trinidad and Tobago is now in possession of three gold medals at the highest level of the sport, which is Read more

Check Also

Unplugged: Jereem Richards, Keshorn Walcott and Tyra Gittens speak from the heart

Jereem “The Dream” Richards hypnotises the Hasely Crawford Stadium, but there is pain and drama …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.