Electoral Committee clears TTFA presidential candidates; all 47 delegates expected to vote

EPL Properties Ltd

The Electoral Committee of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) today cleared all 11 candidates seeking office at the local football body’s AGM on 24 November.

The candidates are:

  • President: David John-Williams (DJW), Richard Ferguson (RF), William Wallace (United TTFA);
  • First vice-president: Selby Browne (DJW), Clynt Taylor (United TTFA);
  • Second vice-president: Anthony Moore (DJW), Raymond Thom (RF), Susan Joseph-Warrick (United TTFA);
  • Third vice-president: Colin Partap (DJW), Shymdeo Gosine (RF), Joseph Sam Phillip (United TTFA).
Photo: TTFA president David John-Williams (centre), media officer Shaun Fuentes (left) and new Soca Warriors coach Dennis Lawrence at the TTFA headquarters on 30 January 2017.
(Copyright Allan V Crane/TTFA)

Ferguson’s proposed first vice-president, Eddison Dean, withdrew after the deadline date.

Wired868 was informed that at least two candidates, Ferguson and Partap, faced challenges regarding their eligibility.

Article 34.6 states that any candidate who wishes to become a member of the Board of Directors shall fulfil the following eligibility criteria:

KFC Munch Pack

  • Candidates shall have been active in football for at least three years during the five years preceding the election. This activity must have been performed in a managerial or a similar position in the territory of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.
  • Candidates may not have previously been found guilty of an indictable offence.
  • Candidates shall be nationals of and shall have permanent residence in the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.
  • Candidatures for the office of President and Vice-President of the Board of Directors shall be supported by at least one Member. Candidatures for the other positions of the Board of Directors shall be proposed by the Member they represent.
  • The candidate for the office of member representing the Women Association must be female.
Photo: Terminix La Horquetta Rangers director Richard Ferguson enjoys the action during an Ascension Invitational fixture against QPCC at Phase 2, La Horquetta on 11 September 2019.
(Copyright Allan V Crane/CA-Images/Wired868)

In Ferguson’s case, there is no question that he performed ‘in a managerial or a similar position’ since 2017. However his previous role at Eastern Football Association club La Horquetta XF raised some concern. Ferguson said he was the team’s manager while at least one person claimed he was just a sponsor.

In the end, the Electoral Committee cleared Ferguson.

Partap, an attorney and former UNC Cumuto/Manzanilla MP, listed his role as chairman of the Central Football Association’s Disciplinary Committee since 2016 as evidence of his managerial history within the local game.

In this case, an anonymous challenger argued that being chairman of a zonal committee did not equate to managerial experience in the game. However, the Electoral Committee cleared Partap as well.

The Electoral Committee members are: Boris Punch (former TTFF vice-president and match commissioner), Dr Justin Koo (law lecturer and certified referee), Dr Dexter Browne (dentist), Michael Cooper (UTT board member, Panland president and former national senior team assistant coach) and Jerome Herrera (attorney and First Lieutenant of the Trinidad and Tobago Cadet Force). Cooper was appointed committee chairman.

Notably, it is likely that all 47 delegates—the coaches and players bodies are defunct and suspended—would be allowed to vote on 24 November since no members are suspended at present for non-compliance. Wired868 understands that the Primary Schools and Secondary Schools bodies both had minor issues which are believed to have been addressed.

Photo: SSFL president William Wallace addresses the audience during the media launch of the 2019 season at Fatima College, Mucurapo on 3 September 2019.
(Copyright Allan V Crane/CA-Images/Wired868)

Without a functional and independent Audit and Compliance Committee, the TTFA’s general secretariat handles the issue of compliance, which means general secretary Camara David—an unabashed supporter and campaigner for John-Williams—potentially has authority over the voting list.

Still, delegates cannot be unilaterally stripped of their voting rights and only the general meeting can suspend members.

A well-placed source told Wired868 that the Electoral Committee, with no resources at its disposal, is in no position to carry out a forensic examination of candidates or delegates.

In the end, the general meeting will decide what it is happy with on election day.

“Who is compliant is the TTFA’s business,” said the source, who spoke on condition of anonymity. “Our business is to run the election.”

(TTFA presidential slates—president, first VP, second VP, third VP)

Slate A: David John-Williams, Selby Browne, Anthony Moore, Colin Partap;

Slate B: Richard Ferguson, N/A, Raymond Thom, Shymdeo Gosine;

Slate C: William Wallace, Clynt Taylor, Susan Joseph-Warrick, Joseph Sam Phillip.

More from Wired868
Hadad: “You can’t play football with the Vatican and Tobago!” Fifa extends TTFA’s normalisation

Trinidad and Tobago will remain under the direct grip of Fifa for at least another year, as the world governing Read more

Revenge served cold! Wired868 examines collapse of TTSL Board, after De Four motion

On 19 September 2021, Prison Service superintendent Lee Davis was elected as president of the Trinidad and Tobago Super League Read more

“We reconsider…” TTFA members bend to Fifa, as Hadad’s reign continues

Less than six hours after threatening to refer the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) to the Gianni Infantino-led Bureau Read more

Browne: Hadad must name mystery TTFA “financier”; NC, Trustee accused of misleading members

Veteran Footballers Foundation president Selby Browne has accused the Robert Hadad-led Normalisation Committee and its trustee, Maria Daniel, of misleading Read more

Dear Editor: Now TTFA’s members know who they climbed in bed with, after accepting “normalisation”

“[…] It is sadly laughable that those who now demand democratic elections on 18 March have never demanded that Fifa Read more

“Neo-colonialism”, “diabolical”, “justifiable”; TTFA creditors speak out as Hadad tries to hold off football membership

Somewhere between 2006 and 2010, as Trinidad and Tobago’s football stock fell on and off the field—and, as always, the Read more

About Lasana Liburd

Lasana Liburd
Lasana Liburd is the managing director and chief editor at Wired868.com and a journalist with over 20 years experience at several Trinidad and Tobago and international publications including Play the Game, World Soccer, UK Guardian and the Trinidad Express.

Check Also

Hadad: “You can’t play football with the Vatican and Tobago!” Fifa extends TTFA’s normalisation

Trinidad and Tobago will remain under the direct grip of Fifa for at least another …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.