Home / Volley / Local Football / TTSL on election footing, ‘United TTFA’ appear strengthened after shuffle of voting delegates

TTSL on election footing, ‘United TTFA’ appear strengthened after shuffle of voting delegates

The Trinidad and Tobago Super League (TTSL) is on election footing and the indications are ominous for Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) president David John-Williams.

On the Divali weekend, the TTSL held its AGM and, pertinently, selected its voting delegates for the upcoming TTFA election, which will be held on 24 November. And there were four significant changes as the second tier domestic football body shuffled its representatives.

Photo: TTFA president David John-Williams (left) shares the stage with board members Julia Baptiste (centre) and Keith Look Loy at the presentation of FIFA refereeing badges to local officials on 23 January 2019.
(Copyright TTFA Media)

The decisions were taken democratically by 12 of the TTSL’s 14 current member clubs. Those are: Bethel United, Club Sando, Cunupia FC, FC Santa Rosa, Guaya United, Petit Valley/Diego Martin United, Police FC, Prison Service FC, QPCC FC, RSSR FC, San Fernando Giants and UTT FC. Erin FC and Matura ReUnited were both absent.

Santa Rosa, the club of TTSL president Keith Look Loy, Bethel United, Club Sando and San Fernando Giants all retained their voting rights. However, clubs voted to remove Guaya United, Cunupia FC, Petit Valley/Diego Martin United and Police FC. The latter four were replaced by Prison Service, QPCC, RSSR and UTT.

Guaya and Cunupia—led by Randy Hagley and Michael De Four respectively—were open critics of Look Loy and attempted to oust him from the TTFA Board earlier this year.

Look Loy is not running for a post at the TTFA’s November election but is felt to be an influential person with the ‘United TTFA’ slate, headed by Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) president William Wallace.

If John-Williams lost some TTSL support this weekend, the same might be said of another presidential candidate, Richard Ferguson. Ferguson’s potential vice-president, Raymond Thom, is a member of the Police FC which now will not have a vote at the election. However, Club Sando, whose president Eddie Dean will contest the post of first vice-president on Ferguson’s slate, retained their vote at TTSL level to go along with their Pro League vote.

Photo: FC Santa Rosa president and technical director Keith Look Loy (far right) looks on during Ascension Invitational action against Guaya Utd at the Arima Velodrome on 23 August 2019.
Look Loy is also the TTSL president and a TTFA board member.
(Copyright Nicholas Bhajan/CA-Images/Wired868)

The TTSL has eight from a potential 47 votes at the TTFA election which makes it the second largest voting bloc after the Pro League, which has 10 votes.

At present, the three slates contesting the TTFA election are believed to be:

  1. Wallace (president), first vice-president Clynt Taylor, second vice-president Susan Joseph-Warrick and third vice-president Joseph Sam Phillip.
  2. Ferguson (president), first vice-president Dean, second vice-president Thom and third vice-president Shymdeo Gosine.
  3. John-Williams (president), first vice-president Selby Browne, second vice-president Anthony Moore and third vice-president Colin Partap.

About Editor


Check Also

Eve’s gamble pays off as Trinidad and Tobago defy Mexico; Phillip stars in goalless draw

Defiant, disciplined, dogged. The Soca Warriors are back! At the AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.