Home / Volley / Global Football / Wallace elected TTFA president! DJW dethroned after one term in office

Wallace elected TTFA president! DJW dethroned after one term in office

Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) president William Wallace is the new president of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA).

Wallace, a retired Carapichaima East Secondary acting vice-principal, defeated incumbent and Team Impactors slate leader, David John-Williams, after two rounds in the TTFA’s AGM this afternoon. Ironically, the election was held at the Home of Football in Couva, which has been a major talking point for this campaign.

Photo: SSFL president William Wallace addresses the audience during the media launch of the 2019 season at Fatima College, Mucurapo on 3 September 2019.
Wallace was elected TTFA president by 26 votes to 20 on 24 November 2019.
(Copyright Allan V Crane/CA-Images/Wired868)

John-Williams’ supporters held up the project as a symbol of the outgoing president’s vision and capabilities while critics said the lack of transparency and board involvement in the HOF was symbolic of DJW’s dodgy dictatorial tendencies.

In the end, it turned out to be the site for John-Williams’ last stand. With 46 delegates allowed to vote—the Primary Schools Football Association failed to meet the criteria—the threshold to be elected president was 24.

After the first round, Wallace had 20 votes, John-Williams had 16 and Richard Ferguson had 10. It meant Ferguson, a chartered accountant and managing director of Terminix La Horquetta Rangers, was eliminated from the ballot for the second round of voting.

It would appear that six of Ferguson’s supporters then voted for Wallace while the remaining four backed John-Williams. And it meant a 26-20 victory for Wallace, who would steer local football for the next four years.

In the vice-presidential race, there was again a clean sweep for the victorious slate as Clynt Taylor, Susan Joseph-Warrick and Sam Phillip were elected first, second and third vice-presidents respectively.

Photo: WoLF president Sharon Warrick poses with FIFA president Gianni Infantino during a FIFA Women’s Symposium in France in June 2019.

Joseph-Warrick, the Women’s League of Football (WoLF) president, received the most votes of any candidate as she amassed 30 endorsements from the delegates while Taylor and Phillip got 27 each.

How they voted:

President (Round One): William Wallace (United TTFA) 20 votes, David John-Williams (TI) 16 votes, Richard Ferguson (RF) 10 votes;

President (Round Two): William Wallace (United TTFA) 26 votes, David John-Williams (TI) 20 votes;

First vice-president: Clynt Taylor (United TTFA) 27, Selby Browne (TI) 17;

Second vice-president: Susan Joseph-Warrick (United TTFA) 30 votes, Anthony Moore (TI) 10 votes, Raymond Thom (RF) 4 votes;

Third vice-president: Joseph Sam Phillip (United TTFA) 27 votes, Colin Partap (TI) 13 votes, Shymdeo Gosine (RF) 3 votes.

Who voted:

  • TT Pro League: 10 delegates—Club Sando FC, Defence Force FC, Morvant Caledonia AIA, AC Port of Spain, Point Fortin Civic, Police FC, San Juan Jabloteh, Terminix La Horquetta Rangers, W Connection.
  • Trinidad and Tobago Super League: Eight delegates—Bethel United, Club Sando, FC Santa Rosa, Prisons FC, QPCC, RSSR, San Fernando Giants, UTT FC.
Photo: FC Santa Rosa president and technical director Keith Look Loy (far right) looks on during Ascension Invitational action against Guaya Utd at the Arima Velodrome on 23 August 2019.
Look Loy is also the TTSL president and a TTFA board member.
(Copyright Nicholas Bhajan/CA-Images/Wired868)
  • Central FA: Three delegates.
  • Eastern FA: Three delegates.
  • Eastern Counties FU: Three delegates
  • Northern FA: Three delegates.
  • Southern FA: Three delegates.
  • Tobago FA: Three delegates.
  • Women’s League of Football (WoLF): Two delegates.
  • Trinidad and Tobago Football Referees Association: Two delegates.
  • Futsal Association of T&T (FATT): Two delegates.
  • Secondary School Football League: One delegate.
  • TTAYSO: One delegate.
  • T&T Beach Soccer Association: One delegate.
  • Veteran Footballers Foundation of Trinidad and Tobago (VFFOTT): One delegate.


  • Primary Schools League: One delegate


  • Players’ Association: One delegate
  • Coaches Association: One delegate

About Lasana Liburd

Lasana Liburd
Lasana Liburd is the managing director and chief editor at Wired868.com and a journalist with over 20 years experience at several Trinidad and Tobago and international publications including Play the Game, World Soccer, UK Guardian and the Trinidad Express.

Check Also

TTFA makes further payments to Soca Warriors, coaches and office staff, but still in arrears

The Trinidad and Tobago Men’s National Senior Team players have finally been paid off for …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


  1. Cricket people will understand when I say that this might have been a good toss to lose. But if anyone in national football has the wherewithal to make a serious fist of this challenge, it is the boy from Moriah, who has already shown us over several years in the SSFL what capable management is.

    I want to add that I would also have voted for DJW ahead of Tim Kee in the last election four years ago. So I do not propose to let my guard down but I sincerely believe that we are dealing with chalk (surname Williams) and cheese (first name William).

  2. There is still hope.

    • You can say that again. But hope will dissipate very quickly if, now that the new president is in office, all of us down arms and say to ourselves, ‘well, he is the president now; leh he do what he ha to do.’