Form three St Benedict’s midfielder, Josiah Ochoa, wins SSFL Ball Juggling competition

St Benedict’s College midfielder Josiah Ochoa is the Secondary Schools Football League’s first trophy-holder in close to three years, after the 15-year-old form three student won the SSFL Online Ball Juggling Competition earlier this month.

Ochoa emerged best of a field of 10 participants to cop the award. Nine entrants came from St Benedict’s while Tevan McLean represented Holy Cross College.

Photo: St Benedict’s College midfielder Joshua Ochoa.

“I just wanted to represent my school and try to win something,” Ochoa told Wired868. “I practise a lot—like, every other day.”

A midfielder with Point Fortin Youth Football Academy, Ochoa represented St Benedict’s in the Form One League during the 2019 season. However, owing to Covid-19 restrictions, he has not got a chance to play for his school  since then.

He hopes to play for the St Benedict’s Under-16 team in the 2022 season, which is another step towards fulfilling his dream of eventually turning pro.

The SSFL Ball Juggling Competition, which was designed to give students an outlet during the pandemic, judged participants based on creativity and originality, videography, aesthetics, transition of ball from one body part to another, range of difficulty in performing the act, innovation and use of space.

With 20 points out of a possible 25, Ochoa was followed by schoolmates Salim Soanes (17 ) and Sebastien James (16 ).

The judges were former Strike Squad captain and Trinidad and Tobago National Futsal Team head coach Clayton ‘JB’ Morris, Women’s National Senior Team captain and Kick It with Karyn tournament founder Karyn Forbes, interim Unified Football Coaches Association of Trinidad and Tobago president and former national youth team goalkeeper coach Jefferson George, former Women Soca Warriors captain and stand-out Maylee Attin-Johnson, and former international defender and Beach Soccer player Makan Hislop.

SSFL president Merere Gonzales said the local schools’ body still has to confirm the prize structure for Ochoa, Soanes and James.

More from Wired868
Cooper checks positives as fresh-faced T&T U17s fall 2-1 to Jamaica

Trinidad and Tobago Men’s National Under-17 Team head coach Shawn Cooper said his troops will leave Jamaica with their heads Read more

SSFL 23: Chaves and J’Eleisha scoop up MVP crowns as SSFL names all-star picks

Fatima College forward Michael Chaves and Scarborough Secondary forward J’Eleisha Alexander scooped up the prestigious Most Valuable Player awards yesterday, Read more

Dear Editor: Will SSFL act on Miracle Ministries’ six substitutions against Moruga?

“[…] On Monday 4th March 2024, in a Big 5 match for promotion to the top flight (Premier League), six Read more

TTFA election: Wharfe releases slate; Davis, De Freitas, John-Williams run for office

The next president of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) will be either Kieron Edwards or Colin Wharfe. Wharfe, Read more

Haynes suggests three-pronged plan to beat Canada, after T&T whip Dominica 5-0

Trinidad and Tobago head coach Brian Haynes says his team can beat Canada in Tuesday’s deciding Concacaf U-20 Championship Qualifier Read more

“We played into their hands!” Haynes disappointed despite win, explains Noel sub

Trinidad and Tobago head coach, Brian Haynes, expressed disappointment with his team’s first half performance last night after their 3-2 Read more

Check Also

Cooper checks positives as fresh-faced T&T U17s fall 2-1 to Jamaica

Trinidad and Tobago Men’s National Under-17 Team head coach Shawn Cooper said his troops will …

One comment

  1. Well done, SSFL, for keeping the football tempo alive. Congrats to the boy from “Benedicts” a famous football school from La Romaine. Every effort counts. Hope you become a great player in the future.
    We look forward to the 2022 season in the new academic year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.