Pollard takes unchanged T20I squad to India, as WI selectors show faith in current crop

The West Indies will take an unchanged T20 International team to India,  the newly appointed selectors confirming the composition of the 16-man squad today.

The Maroon Men will play three T20Is at Eden Gardens in Kolkata on 16, 18 and 20 February, following their three-match One-day International Series at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on 6, 9 and 11 February.

Photo: Kieron Pollard (left) and Jason Holder, current and former West Indies white ball captains, have a moment during the 2022 Betway T20I Series against England.
(via CWI Media)

“The team has been doing well in the Betway T20I Series against England in Barbados and we decided to stick with the same group of players,” said Cricket West Indies (CWI) lead selector Sir Desmond Haynes. “They have demonstrated great skill and fight and we expect the same kind of performances on the tour of India.”

West Indies T20 Squad: Kieron Pollard (captain), Nicholas Pooran (vice-captain), Fabian Allen, Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Dominic Drakes, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Brandon King, Rovman Powell, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Kyle Mayers, Hayden Walsh Jr.

West Indies ODI Team: Kieron Pollard (captain), Fabian Allen, Nkrumah Bonner, Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Nicholas Pooran, Kemar Roach, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Hayden Walsh Jr.

KFC Munch Pack

India ODI team: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, KL Rahul, Deepak Hooda, Mohammed Siraj, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Prasidh Krishna, Shikhar Dhawan, Deepak Chahar, Kuldeep Yadav, Virat Kohli, Shardul Thakur, Avesh Khan, Suryakumar Yadav, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal.

Photo: Rovman Powell celebrates after becoming only the third West Indies player to score a century in T20I cricket by pummelling England for 107 off 53 balls at Kensington Oval, Barbados on 26 January 2022.
(Copyright CWI Media)

India T20I team: Rohit Sharma (captain), Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Ravi Bishnoi, KL Rahul, Venkatesh Iyer, Mohammed Siraj, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Virat Kohli, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Harshal Patel, Suryakumar Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Avesh Khan, Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel.

(West Indies Tour to India)

6 February: 1st ODI at Ahmedabad

9 February: 2nd ODI at Ahmedabad

11 February: 3rd ODI at Ahmedabad

16 February: 1st T20I at Kolkata

18 February: 2nd T20I at Kolkata

20 February: 3rd T20I at Kolkata

More from Wired868
“This is not me giving up…” Pooran quits as WI captain after 9 wins and 21 defeats

West Indies batsman Nicholas Pooran has stepped down as white ball captain, in the wake of the team’s humiliating group Read more

Lara on three-man CWI committee to conduct “comprehensive review” of WI’s T20 exit

West Indies cricket legend Brian Lara will sit on a three-man committee mandated to “conduct a comprehensive review” of the Read more

Dr Rowley: West Indies must find necessary skills within ourselves to halt cricket slide

“[…] What is it about us that after demonstrating our superior playing skills in these colonial and post-colonial islands we Read more

CWI announces Simmons’ departure, days after Skerritt vowed “solutions will be found”

West Indies coach Phil Simmons appears set to pay the price for his team’s shambolic exit from the 2022 ICC Read more

“He told us he’s committed!” WI recall Evin, while Cariah, Charles and Reifer also in W/Cup squad

The Cricket West Indies selection panel announced its 15-man team for the 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup today, with Read more

King shines, as stand-in captain Powell helps West Indies to eight wkt win over NZ

The West Indies snapped a five match losing streak in the T20 International format today, as they defeated New Zealand Read more

About Editor

Check Also

“This is not me giving up…” Pooran quits as WI captain after 9 wins and 21 defeats

West Indies batsman Nicholas Pooran has stepped down as white ball captain, in the wake …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.