WI regional championship roster changes, standings and top performers so far

There will be 10 roster changes for round four of the 2022 West Indies Championship, with five of the six franchises required to replace players selected for the West Indies tour to The Netherlands and Pakistan.

The Guyana Harpy Eagles, who are fourth at present but trail leaders Barbados Pride by just six points, remain unchanged—Romario Shepherd, the sole Guyana player in the West Indies team, has been on IPL duty with the already eliminated Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Photo: T&T Red Force fast bowler Anderson Phillip (right) forces Jamaica lower-order batsman Patrick Harty (left) to take evasive action during West Indies Championship action in Tarouba on 11 February 2022.
(Copyright Daniel Prentice/ Wired868)

However, the other players who are absent with leave from the next round, due to Windies picks, are Shai Hope, Shamarh Brooks (Barbados), Nkrumah Bonner, Brandon King (Jamaica), Keacy Carty, Hayden Walsh Jr (Leeward Islands), Shermon Lewis (Windward Islands), Anderson Phillip, Jayden Seales and Akeal Hosein (Trinidad and Tobago). 

They join Alzarri Joseph, Kyle Mayers, Rovman Powell and Shepherd in Europe, the first two likely to arrive after the second two.  Joseph’s Gujarat Titans finished atop the IPL table and beat the Rajastan Royals by seven wickets in today’s Qualifier. Mayers’ Lucknow Super Giants are in tomorrow’s Eliminator 1 against Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Phillip apart, none of the players selected for West Indies white-ball duty was among the top performers in the four-day competition.

Twenty-nine-year-old Test captain Kraigg Brathwaite is the top scorer in the current West Indies Championships with 455 runs from six innings at an average of 93.80. The Barbados Pride skipper is the only batsman to manage two centuries so far this season.

Photo: Barbados Pride captain Kraigg Brathwaite (left) scored a century against Guyana in their West Indies Championship clash at the QP Oval on 21 May 2022.
(Copyright Daniel Prentice/ Wired868)

With one century and three half-centuries to his credit, Antiguan top-order batsman Devon Thomas, 32, is the only batsman to cross the 50-mark on four occasions already this season.

2022 Top Five Run Scorers

Kraigg Brathwaite (Barbados): 455 runs from 6 innings—ave 93.80/HS 276

Kieran Powell (Leeward Islands): 366 runs from 5 innings—ave 73.20/HS 139

Devon Thomas (Leeward Islands): 338 runs from 5 innings—ave 67.60/HS 112

Yannic Cariah (Trinidad and Tobago): 263 runs from 5 innings—ave 52.60/HS 100

Joel Campbell (Jamaica): 261 runs from 5 innings—ave 52.20/HS 127

Photo: Leeward Islands pacer Jeremiah Louis celebrates capturing another wicket during West Indies Championship action against the T&T Red Force at the Diego Martin Sporting Complex on 20 May 2022.
(Copyright Daniel Prentice/ Wired868)

Kittitian pacer Jeremiah Louis, 26, leads all bowlers with 14 wickets in six innings while 27-year-old Jamaican pacer Marquino Mindley is the only player with two five-wicket hauls so far this season. 

2022 Top Five Wicket-takers  

Jeremiah Louis (Leeward Islands): 14 wickets from 6 innings—ave 16.71/econ 3.16

Veerasammy Permaul (Guyana): 13 wickets from 6 innings—ave 27.69/econ 2.53

Anderson Phillip (Trinidad and Tobago): 13 wickets from 6 innings—ave 19.30/econ 4.10

Marquino Mindley (Jamaica): 13 wickets from 5 innings—ave 13/econ 2.39

Colin Archibald (Leeward Islands): 12 wickets from 6 innings—ave 19.50/econ 3.45

Bryan Charles (Trinidad and Tobago): 12 wickets from 6 innings—ave 25.91/econ 3.18

Photo: Jamaica pacer Marquino Mindley (front) celebrates his 5/20 haul against the Windward Islands in West Indies Championship action in Tarouba on 18 May 2022.
(Copyright Daniel Prentice/ Wired868)

The following are the updated squads for round four:

Barbados Pride: Kraigg Brathwaite (captain), Jonathan Carter, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich, Keon Harding, Chaim Holder, Akeem Jordan, Shayne Moseley, Raymon Reifer, Ramon Simmonds, Jomel Warrican, Camarie Boyce, Justin Greaves, Miguel Cummins, Jonathan Drakes.

Guyana Harpy Eagles: Leon Johnson (captain), Keemo Paul, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Tevin Imlach, Vishaul Singh, Akshaya Persaud, Veerasammy Permaul, Anthony Bramble, Gudakesh Motie, Nial Smith, Demetri Cameron, Antony Adams, Kevin Sinclair, Ronsford Beaton.

Jamaica Scorpions: John Campbell (captain), Jermaine Blackwood, Leroy Lugg, Oraine Williams, Aldaine Thomas, Gordon Bryan, Paul Palmer Jr, Jamie Merchant, Marquino Mindley, Nicholson Gordon, Derval Green, Patrick Harty, Kirk McKenzie, Alwyn Williams, Brad Barnes.

Photo: Leeward Islands opener Kieran Powell works a delivery off his legs during Championship action against the T&T Red Force at the Diego Martin Sporting Complex on 18 May 2022.
(Copyright Daniel Prentice/ Wired868)

Leeward Islands Hurricanes: Rahkeem Cornwall (captain), Devon Thomas, Amir Jangoo, Kieran Powell, Colin Archibald, Terence Warde, Jeremiah Louis, Sheeno Berridge, Daniel Doram, Damion Williams, Ross Powell, Kian Pemberton, Jahmar Hamilton, Kofi James.

Trinidad and Tobago Red Force: Imran Khan (captain), Jason Mohammed, Jeremy Solozano, Isaiah Rajah, Khary Pierre, Shannon Gabriel, Darren Bravo, Terrance Hinds, Bryan Charles, Yannic Cariah, Sharron Lewis, Uthman Muhammad, Jyd Goolie, Keagan Simmons, Joshua Da Silva.

Windward Islands Volcanoes: Kavem Hodge (captain), Keron Cottoy, Denis Smith, Devon Smith, Ackeem Auguste, Alick Athanaze, Daurius Martin, Desron Maloney, Josh Thomas, Kenneth Dember, Kimani Melius, Preston McSween, Ryan John, Teddy Bishop, Larry Edward.

Photo: Guyana Harpy Eagles spinner Veerasammy Permaul (left) goes in search of another scalp during WI Championship action against the Barbados Pride at the QP Oval on 21 May 2022.
(Copyright Daniel Prentice/ Wired868)

Standings (Tabulated as Games Played-Won-Lost-No result-Tied-Points)

Barbados                        3-2-1-0-0-47.2

Leeward Islands         3-2-1-0-0-46.4

Trinidad and Tobago 3-2-1-0-0-43

Guyana                             3-2-1-0-0-41.4

Jamaica                          3-1-2-0-0-29.6

Windward Islands     3-0-0-0-0-15.6

More from Wired868
Vaneisa: Spirits of the game; West Indies’ friendly ghosts at the Gabba

“In our eras of greatness, when West Indies took the field, ghostly presences walked with the players, representing commitment to Read more

Dear Editor: Windies, wake up! Why do we turn up against England and not Australia?!

“[…] Impatience was our downfall… Kraigg Brathwaite and Tagenarine Chanderpaul have got to have a long hard look at themselves Read more

Bishop, Imlach, Greaves, Walsh among WI ODI picks, “Hetty” and Cariah miss out

Twenty-year-old Grenadian top order batsman Teddy Bishop and 27-year-old Guyanese wicketkeeper-batsman Tevin Imlach are in line to make their One Read more

Pooran, Holder and Mayers decline WI contracts; CWI announces 2023-24 list

Cricket West Indies (CWI) today confirmed their list of centrally contracted men’s and women’s players for the 2023-24 season, based Read more

Discarded Darren bides his time, DJ Bravo throws WI selectors under the bus

At 34, Darren Bravo probably did not have his eyes on a place in the West Indies squad for the Read more

“Hetty’s” back! WI recall Hetmyer and Oshane for ODI series

Dashing left-handed batsman Shimron Hetmyer was included in the West Indies team for the upcoming One-Day International (ODI) series against Read more

Check Also

Vaneisa: Spirits of the game; West Indies’ friendly ghosts at the Gabba

“In our eras of greatness, when West Indies took the field, ghostly presences walked with …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.